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Guidelines for ACBL Application of Law 23 Comparable Calls 
November, 2017 

 
Introduction.  
 
This document is intended to be used by directors and appeals committees in the ACBL 
to help bring consistency to the application of the concept of comparable call found in 
the Laws of Duplicate Bridge 2017.  While examples will be used for illustration, it is 
not intended that this document address every specific situation that may arise.  Rather, 
it is hoped that the principles discussed here can be applied consistently to the great 
majority of situations where Law 23 might be used. 
 
Law 23's effect on Laws 27, 30, 31, and 32 is intended to increase the frequency of 
normal bridge results achieved after insufficient bids and calls out of turn.  Directors 
should be reasonably lenient and flexible in applying it to achieve that goal, but it cannot 
and is not intended to be used in all situations.  Directors must recognize that in many 
situations no comparable call will exist for an offender and the call he selects will bar his 
partner for one round (Laws 30, 31, and 32) or the remainder of the auction (Law 27). 
 
Even after the decision to allow a comparable call has been made (and particularly when 
the standard of “similar meaning” found in 23A1 is used to allow it), the director should 
always be aware of the possibility that the score might later need to be adjusted if the 
non-offending side is damaged and the outcome of the board could well have been 
different as a result of assistance from information gained through the infraction.  
However, it is important to note here that scores should not be adjusted simply because 
the non-offending side received a poor result after the director permitted the substitution 
of a comparable call.  The law says an adjustment should be made only if the offenders' 
good result was achieved “with assistance” from information in the withdrawn call, not 
“had the infraction not occurred” at all.  More on this concept later in these guidelines. 
 
Actions of infractor’s partner before the selection of a comparable call.  
 
Before we get into the idea of comparable calls, it is very important to discuss the 
obligations of the partner of the infractor if he gets to make a call before his partner has 
had a chance to select (or not select) a comparable call.  At this point after a call out of 
turn not accepted, the partner is restricted by Law 16C2: “For an offending side, 
information arising from its own withdrawn action . . . is unauthorized.”  The partner of 
the infractor may not select from among logical alternatives a call suggested by the 
information contained in the call out of turn.   
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Some examples: 
 
#1 

North opens 1♠, not accepted by East.  South as 
dealer at both vulnerable holds: 
♠ Kxx   
♥ x   
♦ Qx   
♣ KJ98xxx.   
 
Knowing partner has a 1♠ opening demonstrably 
suggests to South not to open what seems to be a 
normal 3♣ bid.  If he passes instead of opening 3♣ 

that is an infraction under 16C2.  If EW is damaged as a result, the director should adjust 
the score and not allow any weighting to be given to a result achievable after an opening 
pass (see Law 12C1c).  However, if South does choose the legal alternative of opening 
3♣ and his partner responds 3♠ (forcing) after the director allows it as a comparable call, 
there is no unauthorized information to South.  He is not constrained in his subsequent 
actions by the usual UI rules of logical alternatives.  As long as there is no information 
available to South from any difference in meaning between a 1♠ opening bid and a 3♠ 
response to 3♣ that assisted his decisions in achieving a good result, there should be no 
score adjustment (no matter how good that result might be). 
 
#2 

East opens 1♥ at both vulnerable with North as 
dealer, not accepted by South.  North opens 3♦ and 
East bids 3♥ (deemed to be a comparable call).  
South passes.  The East and West holdings are in 
the box at left.  3NT makes exactly three, while 
hearts also makes nine tricks.  Note that East is 
entitled to choose 3♥ as his call even though he 
might have chosen a different call in other 
circumstances.  He has no unauthorized 
information from his own bid out of turn.  Once 3♥ 
is deemed comparable, West has no unauthorized 
information either and he is free to bid what he 
wants.  However, this is a case where the infraction 
might have given “assistance” to West and the non-
offending side was damaged as a result.  The result 
of the board could well have been different if West 

S Deals, Both Vul 
North opens 1♠ out of turn, 
not accepted by East 
W  N E S (Dlr)    

1♠ 
--------------------------------------- 
W  N E S (Dlr)    
   ? 

N Deals, Both Vul 
East opens 1♥ out of turn,  
not accepted by South 
W N(Dlr) E S 
               1♥   
--------------------------------------- 
W N(Dlr) E S 
 3♦  3♥ P 
?  
(3♥ deemed comparable) 
West    East: 
♠ Kxxx  ♠ AQx 
♥ Qx   ♥ JTxxx 
♦  Ax   ♦ xx   
♣ QJxxx  ♣ AKx 
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had made a different choice than bidding 3NT, a bid that seems more attractive knowing 
partner has a hand less likely to be a “pure” 3♥ overcall.  Law 16C2 does not apply to 
West's 3NT, but the outcome of the board is still subject to adjustment under 23C.  If 
polling indicated that 40% of players bid 4♥ with the West hand; 50% bid 3NT; and 10% 
passed, a weighted adjustment would be indicated.  Giving the normal credit to the non-
offenders, the adjustment might be something like 45% of the score for 3NT making, 
45% of the score for 4♥ down one, and 10% of the score for 3♥ making three. 
 
Infractor’s partner’s liberty to select a call before the comparable call that distorts his 
hand. 
 
Some have asked if the concept of UI available from infractor's withdrawn call extends 
to whether the partner may choose a call that distorts his hand in order to maximize his 
side's chances to get a favorable result (as when infractor calls out of turn at partner's or 
LHO's turn to call, hence subjecting partner to 16C2).  For example: 
 
#3 

South passes with North as dealer and it is not 
accepted by West.  Assume NS do not play 
transfers (a possibly complicating factor that will 
be discussed later).  North has a balanced 18HCP 
but his 1NT range is 15-17.  His normal opening 
with the hand he holds is 1♣.  May he open 1NT so 
that his partner, South, will not be constrained by 
unlimited one level responses to it that he, North, 
knows will be ruled not comparable?  Opening 
1NT will give his partner many more options to 
make a call that won't bar him. 

 
The argument in favor of this kind of action being permissible is that a player is using 
his knowledge of the laws, not the knowledge from the withdrawn call.  However, it is 
not knowledge of the rules alone, but also the knowledge of what partner's call meant 
that causes the UI problem.  16C2 refers to “information arising” from its own 
withdrawn action.  The withdrawn action is not just the call and what it meant. The 
partner of a caller out of turn should therefore not have an advantage over law abiding 
players at other tables where there was no call out of turn.  He has a very good idea of 
what his partner holds before his first call following the infraction.  They do not.  So no, 
a player may not distort his bidding before his partner has had a chance to make a 
replacement call in order to maximize his side's chances of avoiding penalties.  To do so 
is an infraction according to 16C2.  If he does distort his call and the opponents are 
damaged as a result, the score should be adjusted as described above (note again the 

N Deals 
South passes out of turn,  
not accepted by West 
W N (Dlr)   E     S      
                       P 
--------------------------------------- 
W N (Dlr)   E     S  

?  
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prohibition in 12C1c when making a weighted ruling).  When advising a player of his 
rights and responsibilities, the director should make mention to the partner of the caller 
out of turn that he should make his normal call so as not to run afoul of unauthorized 
information rules. 
 
Discussion of the three definitions in Law 23. 
 
Any of the three definitions in Law 23 may be used to rule a call comparable, but they 
are independent tests.  They should not be mixed together in an attempt to find a way to 
allow a call as comparable.  For example, 23A2 refers to a subset.  Subset has a definite 
meaning: for a call to be defined as a subset, all the meanings of the replacement call 
must fit into the meaning of the withdrawn call.  For example: 
 
#4 

South bids 1♥ to open the auction at North's turn to 
call, not accepted by West.  North opens 1♠ and 
East passes.  If South bids 2♥, that is a comparable 
call but not necessarily because it is a subset of 1♥ 
openings.  Certainly if 2♥ is not game forcing there 
are hands that would respond 2♥ which might not 
be opened 1♥.  So in that case 2♥ is not a subset of 
hands that would open 1♥.  2♥ here shows 5+ 
hearts and 10+ points, but a 1♥ opening shows 5+ 
hearts and 12+ points.  However, the two bids 

should be ruled comparable because they are “similar” per 23A1. 
 
#5 

North opens 1NT, East passes, and South bids 2♦ 
as a transfer to hearts.  North bids 2♥ out of turn 
(not accepted by East).  West gets his turn and bids 
2♠.  Pass would now be a comparable call for 
North since all hands that would pass would have 
bid 2♥.  3♥ should also be accepted as a 
comparable call, although not necessarily by the 
subset definition since some hands that bid 3♥ 
might have super accepted the transfer.  But 3♥ is 
surely “similar” to 2♥ and should be allowed for 
that reason.  If the slight extra information 
available from the withdrawn 2♥ bid (the failure to 
super accept) turns out to assist South in making 

winning decisions later, the director has recourse to 23C. 

N Deals 
South opens 1♥ out of turn, 
not accepted by West 
W  N (Dlr)   E     S     

    1♥ 
--------------------------------------- 
W  N (Dlr)   E     S     

1♠     P     ? 

N Deals 
At his second turn, North 
bids 2♥ out of turn, 
not accepted by East 
W N (Dlr)   E     S                

1NT       P      2♦(Trnsf) 
2♥ 

--------------------------------------- 
W N (Dlr)   E     S                

1NT       P      2♦(Trnsf) 
2♠ ? 
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23A3 allows a call to be ruled comparable if it has the same purpose as the withdrawn 
call.  “Same purpose” has a definite meaning, although there is more scope to be flexible 
in its application than with the subset definition of 23A2.  Differences in strength do not 
matter here.  If the new call asks for the same information as the withdrawn call it is 
comparable under this section of the laws.  A 3♣ Puppet Stayman replacement of a 
withdrawn 2♣ simple Stayman should be permitted.  Both ask about major suit lengths 
even if the questions are slightly different (and the strengths may be very different).  
Recourse to 23C is always available if information in the withdrawn call not contained 
in the replacement call assists the offenders.  Another example that should be allowed as 
comparable under this section is a withdrawn 4♣ Gerber bid asking for the number of 
aces replaced by a 4NT bid asking for the number of key cards. 
 
As for 23A1, how “similar” must a call be to be permitted as comparable?  In general, 
distributional differences between the withdrawn call and the replacement call are more 
problematic than strength differences.  Note that once the director has allowed a call as 
comparable the lead penalties of Law 26 will not apply under any circumstances.  For 
that reason alone, a call should not be ruled similar if the withdrawn call specifies a suit 
not shown by the replacement call. 
 
As for strength, in general two or three points difference should not preclude a call from 
being ruled comparable if it seems that the difference is unlikely to affect the outcome of 
the board.   For example: 
 
#6 

South opens 1♥ with North as dealer, not accepted 
by West.  North now opens 1♠ and East overcalls 
2♦.  2♥ should be ruled a comparable call for South 
under this section of the laws.  The replacement bid 
and the withdrawn bid both show at least five 
hearts.  While all hands that would bid 2♥ in a 
standard context would not necessarily have 
opened the bidding, the difference in point count is 
small enough to be acceptable.  In contrast, if 2♥ is 
a negative free bid, it should not be allowed as 

comparable for reasons similar to the next example:  

N Deals 
South opens 1♥ out of turn,  
not accepted by West 
W N (Dlr)   E     S      
                   1♥ 
--------------------------------------- 
W N (Dlr)   E     S  

1♠     2♦      ? 
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#7 
South opens 1♥ with North as dealer, not accepted 
by West.  This time North opens 1♣ and East 
passes; 1♥ should not be ruled comparable.  Not 
only is there a difference in heart length between 
the two bids, but more importantly a call that 
shows 6+ points and one that shows 12+ points is 
not similar enough. 
 
 
 

 
Note that a danger in allowing such calls as comparable is that information from the 
difference in meanings may well often give the partner an advantage in common 
auctions.  This can become a problem when the opponents intervene after the 
replacement call.  In the example immediately above, if South is allowed 1♥ in response 
to partner's 1♣ bid as comparable and West now preempts in spades North has 
significant useful information from the withdrawn opening bid of 1♥. 
 
The concept that the three clauses in 23A for allowing a comparable call are independent 
of each other affects many rulings, and in some cases it means no comparable call will 
be available to a player.  For example: 
 
#8 

South passes out of turn with North as dealer, not 
accepted by West.  North now opens 2NT and East 
passes.  Can a 3♦ transfer be ruled comparable to 
the pass?  It seems making that determination 
would require mixing the meanings of 23A1 and 
23A2 (it is “similar” to a subset), so the answer is 
no.  It is true that over a 2NT opening partner will 
rarely have a hand that would have opened the 
bidding, but it is a possibility so 3♦ is not a true 
subset.  Further, it is hard to say that a call showing 

five or more hearts is “similar” to a hand that would not open the bidding.  The same 
ruling would apply to a 3♣ Stayman call in the same auction after an out of turn pass by 
South.  It is true that over a 2NT opening there is not much likelihood that ruling these 
calls comparable will cause a problem later, but they do not fit into any of the separate 
definitions of comparable found in Law 23.  The goal of Law 23 is to increase the 
frequency of normal bridge results but not at the expense of interpreting the words in a 
way clearly not intended.  Further, the problem with allowing such bids as comparable is 

N Deals 
South passes out of turn,  
not accepted by West 
W N (Dlr)   E     S      
                       P 
--------------------------------------- 
W N (Dlr)   E     S  

2NT       P       ? 

N Deals 
South opens 1♥ out of turn,  
not accepted by West 
W N (Dlr)   E     S      
                       1♥ 
--------------------------------------- 
W N (Dlr)   E     S  

1♣      P     ? 
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drawing the line at a point beyond where it will too often create a problem.  The 
example of 2NT does not seem such a problem, but what if the opening bid was 1NT 15-
17?  Or 1NT 10-12? 
 
The same problem applies in this kind of an auction: 
 
#9 

North opens 1♣, East passes, South bids 1♥, and 
West bids 1♠.  North does not see the 1♠ bid and 
bids 1♠ himself.  Is 1NT a comparable call?  For 
the same reasons as above, no.  1NT is not a subset 
of hands that would rebid 1♠ since 1NT does not 
require four spades.  In other words, not all hands 
that would bid 1NT would have bid 1♠.  And a bid 
that shows 12-18+ points with four spades is not 
“similar” to a bid that shows 12-14 points and two 
to four spades. 
 
 
 
 

 
#10 

South passes out of turn with North as dealer, not 
accepted by West.  North opens 2♣ strong artificial 
and forcing.  After East passes, is 2♦ negative a 
comparable call?  Clearly yes. Virtually all hands 
that bid 2♦ would have passed as dealer so we 
deem it a subset of the opening pass out of turn.  
The only exceptions would be hands that might 
have opened with a pre-emptive action rather than 
a pass, but for the purposes of ruling a call 
comparable to a pass according to 23A2 we 
disregard that consideration.  Is 2♦ waiting denying 

a good five card suit also part of that subset?  No, not really since conceivably some 
hands choosing to bid 2♦ might have opened the bidding. Yet clearly almost every hand 
that would make a 2♦ bid with this meaning would have passed as dealer, so it should be 
ruled comparable by dint of 23A1 (“same or similar meaning”) rather than 23A2 
(“subset”).  Any other calls over a 2♣ opening that have an upper limit below an 
opening bid should be ruled comparable as a subset (for example, a 2NT or 3NT natural 
response showing values less than an opening bid).  But a natural unlimited suit 

N Deals 
At his second turn, North 
does not see West’s bid and 
bids insufficiently, 
not accepted by East 
W N (Dlr)   E     S      

1♣         P     1♥ 
1♠ 1♠ 
--------------------------------------- 
W N (Dlr)   E     S  

1♣         P     1♥ 
1♠ ? 

N Deals 
South passes out of turn,  
not accepted by West 
W N (Dlr)   E     S      
                       P 
--------------------------------------- 
W N (Dlr)   E     S    

2♣         P       ? 
(2♣=strong, aritificial,forcing) 
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response is not comparable since it may be made on a hand that would have opened the 
bidding (not a subset) and it is not “similar” to a pass. 
 
#11 

South opens 1♥ out of turn with East as dealer, not 
accepted by West.  East opens 1♠. 2♥ would be a 
comparable call for South, but double would not.  
Double is not a subset of 1♥ openings, and the 
distributional differences between the two calls are 
too much to deem them “similar”. 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
  
 
 

E Deals 
South opens 1♥ out of turn,  
not accepted by West 
W N      E (Dlr)   S      
                       1♥ 
--------------------------------------- 
W N      E (Dlr)   S      
              1♠         ? 


